subscribe: Posts | Comments

David Blaine Announces 2018 Tour


David Blaine is more than a magician. He is more than an illusionist. According to his website and to his publicist, he’s an endurance artist that also does magic, sometimes on television and sometimes at theaters or arenas. That is, when he finally decides to tour.

The good news for his fans is that Blaine is hitting the road this spring for an extensive run of North American dates.

The Live Nation-produced ‘David Blaine Live’ tour kicks off on May 6th at the San Diego Civic Center in sunny Calfornia and runs through mid-July when it wraps with a pair of shows at Kings Theatre in Brooklyn on July 12 & 14th. During that time he will make stops in other cities including Los Angeles, Dallas, Houston, Miami, Chicago, Boston, Toronto, Montreal and more.

Blaine is known for his fusion of both magic and physical stunt work which include being buried alive in New York City for a week, encased inside a six-ton block of ice for three days, surviving standing atop a 100ft tall pillar in Bryant Park for 36 hours without a safety net, enduring 44 days inside a transparent box in London on nothing but water, and living within one million volts discharged at him continuously for 72 hours from seven Tesla coils.

Blaine also spent one week submerged in a sphere-shaped aquarium at Lincoln Center, after which he broke the world record for breath-holding live on the Oprah Winfrey show where he held his breath for over 17 minutes.

David Blaine, seen here with Kelly Ripa, in 2008, announced his 2018 tour, which includes a stop in Fresno in May. Tina Fineberg – AP

Described by Howard Stern as the greatest magician that ever lived, David Blaine redefined magic after producing and directing his original television special Street Magic when he was just twenty-three. Penn Jillette of Penn & Teller called “the best TV magic special ever done.” The New York Times noted that Blaine has “taken a craft that’s been around for hundreds of years and done something unique and fresh with it,” whilst The New Yorker claimed “he saved magic.”

Since graduating high school, he has performed to audiences of over 20,000 in arenas around the world. He has performed for U.S Presidents including Barack Obama, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, and other international leaders and prominent figures such as Bill Gates, Henry Kissinger, Michael Bloomberg, Stephen Hawking and Muhammad Ali.

David Blaine Live’ dates

Sunday, May 06, 2018 – San Diego, CA – San Diego Civic Theatre
Monday, May 07, 2018 – Bakersfield, CA – Rabobank Theater
Wednesday, May 09, 2018 – Fresno, CA – Saroyan Theatre
Thursday, May 10, 2018 – San Jose, CA – City National Civic
Saturday, May 12, 2018 – Oakland, CA – Paramount Theatre
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 – Seattle, WA – Paramount Theatre
Friday, May 18, 2018 – Vancouver, BC – Queen Elizabeth Theatre
Monday, May 21, 2018 – Portland, OR – Keller Auditorium
Thursday, May 24, 2018 – Los Angeles, CA – Dolby Theatre
Sunday, May 27, 2018 – Mesa, AZ – Mesa Arts Center
Wednesday, May 30, 2018 – Houston, TX – Smart Financial Center at Sugar Land
Thursday, May 31, 2018 – Dallas, TX – Music Hall at Fair Park
Saturday, June 02, 2018 – Chattanooga, TN – Tivoli Theatre
Sunday, June 03, 2018 – Huntsville, AL – Von Braun Center – Concert Hall
Tuesday, June 05, 2018 – Jacksonville, FL – Florida Theatre
Wednesday, June 06, 2018 – St. Petersburg, FL – Mahaffey Theater
Friday, June 08, 2018 – Miami, FL – Adrienne Arsht Center
Monday, June 11, 2018 – Orlando, FL – Dr. Phillips Center
Friday, June 15, 2018 – Minneapolis, MN – State Theatre
Saturday, June 16, 2018 – Chicago, IL – The Chicago Theatre
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 – St. Louis, MO – Peabody Opera House
Thursday, June 21, 2018 – Knoxville, TN – The Tennessee Theatre
Saturday, June 23, 2018 – Asheville, NC – Thomas Wolfe Auditorium
Sunday, June 24, 2018 – Oxon Hill, MD – The Theater at MGM National Harbor
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 – Albany, NY – Palace Theatre
Thursday, June 28, 2018 – Richmond, VA – Altria Theater
Friday, June 29, 2018 – Wallingford, CT – Toyota Presents Oakdale
Sunday, July 01, 2018 – Boston, MA – Boch Center Wang Theatre
Monday, July 02, 2018 – Montreal, QC – L’Olympia
Wednesday, July 04, 2018 – Toronto, ON – Sony Centre For Performing Arts
Thursday, July 05, 2018 – Toronto, ON – Sony Centre For Performing Arts
Saturday, July 07, 2018 – Detroit, MI – The Fox Theatre
Sunday, July 08, 2018 – Buffalo, NY – Shea’s Performing Arts Center
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 – Upper Darby, PA – Tower Theatre
Thursday, July 12, 2018 – Brooklyn, NY – Kings Theatre
Saturday, July 14, 2018 – Brooklyn, NY – Kings Theatre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *